The 2017 NGC Bocas Lit Fest line-up of writers, speakers, and performers.

Aaron Kamugisha

Senior Lecturer in Cultural Studies, UWI

Aliyyah Eniath

Author of The Yard

Andre Bagoo

Trinidadian Poet

Andy Johnson

Senior journalist

Angelique V. Nixon

Writer, artist, teacher, scholar, activist, and poet

Annalee Davis

Visual Artist

Anthony Joseph

Poet, novelist, musician

Asha Javeed

Senior journalist

Barry Goldblatt

Literary agent

Baz Dreisinger

Professor, journalist, film and radio producer

Betty Peter

Author of Brown Sugar and Spice

Brenda Hughes

Artistic Director, Monkey Mountain theatre production company

Claudia de Verteuil

Author of Paradise Plums and Cocoa Beans

Colin Robinson

Poet, journalist and human rights activist

Damian Whiskey

Midnight Robber

Danielle Boodoo-Fortuné

Winner of the 2015 Hollick Arvon Prize for poetry

David Abdulah

Labour leader

David Dabydeen

Critic, writer, novelist and academic

David McDermott Hughes

Author of Energy without Conscience

Debbie Jacob

Journalist and librarian

Derrick Sharbodie

Founder of St James Police Youth Club

Edward Baugh

Poet and Professor Emeritus of English, UWI, Mona

Eliot Weinberger

American writer, essayist and translator

Elizabeth Walcott-Hackshaw

Trinidadian author of Mrs. B

Felicia Chang

Co-Founder of Plantain

Franka Philip

Features Editor, T&T Guardian Newspaper

Funso Aiyejina

Nigerian prize-winning writer based in Trinidad

Gabrielle Hosein

Lecturer and Head of the Institute for Gender and Development Studies, UWI

Gilberte O’Sullivan

Trinidadian writer

Gillian Moor


Godfrey P. Smith

Belizean author & attorney

Gregory Sloane-Seale

national coordinator of the Citizen Security Programme

Ira Mathur

Freelance journalist

Ishion Hutchinson

Jamaican Poet

Jannine T. Horsford

Trinidadian poet

Jennifer Rahim

Trinidadian writer

Keir Roopnarine

Advocate for women’s and children’s rights

Keith Rowley

Prime Minister of T&T and author

Ken Ramchand

Literary critic

Kevin Browne

co-founder of The Caribbean Memory Project

Kevin Jared Hosein

Finalist, 2017 Burt Award for Caribbean Literature

Kim Robinson-Walcott

Head of Caribbean Quarterly, UWI

Kwynn Johnson

Trinidadian artist

Lisa Allen-Agostini

Writer & Editor

Louis Lee Sing

Mayor of Port of Spain 2010 - 2013

Malaika Adero

Publishing consultant

Marcia Douglas

Author of The Marvellous Equations of the Dread

Marina Salandy-Brown

Bocas Lit Fest founder and director

Mark Wilson

International journalist

Michael Anthony

Caribbean author and historian

Miguel Browne

Storyteller and Talk Tent star

Monique Roffey

Author of House of Ashes

Nancy Morejón

Cuban poet, critic and essayist

Nathalie Taghaboni

Author of The Savanoy Series

Otávio Maia Chelotti

Brazilian diplomat & poet

Patricia Mohammed

Scholar, writer and filmmaker

Peter Kimani

Kenyan novelist and journalist

Peter Straus

Managing Director of Rogers, Coleridge and White

Philip Nanton

Spoken word artist and writer

Rajiv Mohabir

Author of The Taxidermist’s Cut

Ramesh Deosaran

Professor of Criminology and Social Psychology

Richard Georges

co-editor of Moko

Rosamond King

Poet and scholar

Safiya Sinclair

Author of Cannibal

Sharon Millar

author of The Whale House and Other Stories

Shivanee Ramlochan

Trinidadian poet, arts reporter, literary reviewer

Sunity Maharaj


Sushiela Nasta

Founding Editor of Wasafiri: Magazine of International Contemporary Writing

Thackwray “Dax” Driver

CEO of the T&T Energy Chamber

Vahni Capildeo

Winner of the 2016 Forward Prize

Viviana Prado-Núñez

Author of The Art of White Roses

Wade Mark


Wesley Gibbings