The Prize will open for entries in mid-June 2018.

THE JOHNSON AND AMOY ACHONG CARIBBEAN WRITERS PRIZE is sponsored by philanthropist Dr. Kongsheik Achong Low and administered by The Bocas Lit Fest and Arvon.

This new prize is named after Johnson and Amoy Achong and commemorates their lives as loyal and hardworking citizens of Trinidad and Tobago whose children have continued to contribute to the building of the country. Dr. Achong Low is a medical practitioner and Chairman of Medcorp Limited.

The Johnson and Amoy Achong Caribbean Writers Prize is an annual award, which allows an emerging Caribbean writer living and working in the Anglophone Caribbean to devote time to advancing or finishing a literary work, with support from an established writer as mentor. The prize is offered across three literary genres: fiction in 2019, non-fiction in 2020, and poetry in 2021.

The first winner of the Johnson and Amoy Chong Caribbean Writers Prize will be announced in 2019. The Prize will open for entries in mid-2018.

This Prize replaces the Hollick Arvon Prize Caribbean Writers Prize, which ran between 2013 and 2015. The inaugural winner of the Hollick Arvon Prize in 2013 was Barbara Jenkins of Trinidad and Tobago [fiction], followed by Diana McCaulay of Jamaica [non-fiction] in 2014, and Trinidadian Danielle Boodoo-Fortuné [poetry] in 2015.

At the 2018 NGC Bocas Lit Fest, two of these past awardees, Jenkins and Boodoo-Fortuné, will launch their new books that resulted from winning the Hollick Arvon Prize.


The Prize

The Prize consists of a cash award of US$3,500, a year’s mentoring by an established writer, travel to the United Kingdom to attend a one-week intensive Arvon creative writing course at one of Arvon’s internationally renowned writing houses, and three days in London to network with editors and publishers, hosted by Arvon, in association with the Free Word Centre and a leading London literary agency.