Bocas News

News throughout each festival and all year round

Slam Semis are coming!

The first of two semi-final shows of the biggest spoken word competition in the Caribbean takes place this Sunday, March 24, with the second booked for Sunday, March 31. In each show 20 poets will vie for the judges’ favour at the Central Bank Auditorium from 6 PM.

As excitement mounts in anticipation of the premiere of the final season of the popular fantasy series Game of Thrones (GOT) on April 14, fans will be treated to the integration of Trinidad and Tobago’s lore, history and culture into signature GOT stories of rivalries, battles and conquest.

The GOT theme was established back in January where each of the five open mic auditions held throughout the country was assigned a ‘House’, in keeping with the GOT plot of powerful embattled clans. Houses were identified by local, iconic socio-cultural references such as House Moko, House Jab, House Chantuelle, House Merikins and House Maroons.

The best 15 will move on to the Grand Slam finals to challenge First Citizens National Poetry Slam defending champion Deneka Thomas for the “microphone throne” on Sunday 5th May at NAPA.

For the third consecutive year, the winner will take home $50,000, while second place will be awarded $20,000 and third place $10,000, all courtesy First Citizens.

This year’s second round judging panel includes prize-winning poet Professor Emeritus Funso Aiyejina (head judge), prize-winning author/journalist Lisa Allen-Agostini, journalist/writer Sterling Henderson and academic/writer Janique Dennis.

For ticket information, visit or call 319-4749.

The First Citizens National Poetry Slam is the closing event of the NGC Bocas Lit Fest, which takes place from May 1 to 5 at the National Library and Old Fire Station.

Semi-Finalists according to Houses

Semis 1

Crystal St. Hilaire – Maroons

Kyle Hernandez – Merikins

Semaura Clarke-Celestin – Moko

Michael Logie – Chantuelle

Brendon O’Brien – Jab

Jovon Williams – Chantuelle

Jamila Gomez – Merikins

Akile Wallace – Jab

Ronald Forde – Jab

Javaughn Forde – Jab

Red Frederick – Moko

Muhammad Muwakil – Moko

Isaiah Wayne John – Jab

Keno Samuel – Chantuelle

Omavi Langevine – Merikins

Mishael Henry – Chantuelle

Ronaldo Mohammed – Moko

Emmanuel Villafana – Moko

Alliyah Jackson – Jab

Jonathan Dennis – Merikin

Semis 2

Iyana Phillips – Maroon

Idrees Saleem – Jab

Aaron Charles – Moko

Shimiah Lewis – Jab

Dennis Joseph – Merikin

Amy Yeates – Maroons

Coryal Sylvester – Merikin

Shineque Saunders – Jab

Ahmad Abdul Muhammad – Jab

Marcus Millette – Jab

Kenson Laudat – Jab

D’Izraiel Billy – Jab

Abdul Majeed Abdal Karim – Jab

Seth Sylvester – Merikin

Winston Trotman – Jab

Justin Michael
Barker – Chantuelle

Chaquille Charles – Jab

Arnaldo Conliff – Moko

Brandon O’Brien – Chantuelle

Alexandra Stewart – Merikin