Sharon Millar

Award-winning author

Sharon Millar

Award-winning author


Sharon Millar was born and lives in Trinidad. She is the winner of the 2013 Commonwealth Short Story Prize and the 2012 Small Axe Short Fiction Award. Her first collection The Whale House and other stories (Peepal Tree Press 2015) was long-listed for the 2016 OCM Bocas Prize. Her work has been anthologized in Pepperpot: Best New Stories from the Caribbean (Akashic Books and Peepal Tree Press), WomanSpeak, A Journal of Writing and Art by Caribbean Women,Volume 8, 2016 (edited by Lynn Sweeting), Trinidad Noir 2 (Akashic Books 2017), Griffith Review Edition 59: New Commonwealth Now (2018), and in the forthcoming anthology Thicker Than Water, (Peekash Press 2018).

She is currently at work on her second collection of short stories and her first novel.

All events with Sharon Millar

Secret Lives: Why literary archives matter

26 Apr 2018
1:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Old Fire Station

Tribute: The legacies of Wayne Brown

27 Apr 2018
10:00 am - 11:30 am
AV Room

Salon: “Commonwealth literature” in the 21st century

29 Apr 2018
2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
1st Floor Seminar Room