Bocas Lit Fest

Ancestors

Country of Authorship: Barbados
Author: Edward Kamau Brathwaite
Genre: Poetry

Publisher: New Directions (NY)

Publication Year: 2001

Synopsis

A sweeping historical epic in the vein of Dante or Milton, by the Barbadian poet and historian Kamau Brathwaite. Brathwaite divides the poem into three sections, “Mother Poem,” “Sun Poem,” and “X/Self,” and then smaller sections containing individual poems.

Scroll to Top