More Than A Literary Festival



Country of Authorship: St Lucia
Author: Derek Walcott
Genre: Poetry

Publisher: Farrar, Straus & Giroux

Publication Year: 1990


Omeros is an epic poem, divided into seven “books”, which makes reference to Homer and some of his major characters from the Iliad. Traversing settings, time periods, and voices, the poem beautifully captures the interwoven narratives of history, nature and humanity.The book won the WH Smith Literary Award in 1991, and in 1992, Walcott was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature.

Scroll to Top