More Than A Literary Festival

Barbara Jenkins

Barbara Jenkins

Trinidad & Tobago


The memoir, The Stranger Who Was Myself (Peepal Tree Press/2022), is the Trinidadian author’s latest book. Prizes for her short stories include The Commonwealth Short Story Prize (Caribbean Region), The Wasafiri New Writing Prize, The Canute Brodhurst Prize, The Small Axe Short Story Competition and The Hollick-Arvon Fiction Prize. Sic Transit Wagon, her debut collection of short stories, received the Guyana Prize for Fiction, and her debut novel, De Rightest Place, was shortlisted for the Royal Society of Literature Christopher Bland Prize.


2010 Commonwealth Short Story Prize Caribbean Winner2011 Commonwealth Short Story Prize Caribbean Winner2013 Hollick Arvon Prize WinnerCommonwealth Short Story PrizeHollick Arvon Prize

Years Attended

2016 Adult’s Festival Participant, 2016 South Festival Participant, 2018 Adult’s Festival Participant, 2019 Carifesta Participant, 2022 Bocas UK Tour, 2023 Adult’s Festival Participant
Scroll to Top