More Than A Literary Festival

Burt Award for Caribbean Literature open for entries until 24 Oct 2014

The Burt Award for Caribbean Literature: You can now submit your book or manuscript!

burt final_caribbean_logo_web

Submissions are now being accepted for the second round of the Burt Award for Caribbean Literature until October 24th, 2014. Books, self-published books, graphic novels and manuscripts written for young adults by Caribbean authors are eligible. To consult the guidelines and access the entry forms, click here.

Established by CODE with the generous support of Canadian philanthropist William (Bill) Burt and the Literary Prizes Foundation, in partnership with Bocas Lit Fest, the Burt Award for Caribbean Literature is an annual Award given to three English-language literary works for Young Adults (aged 12 through 18) written by Caribbean authors. A First Prize of $10,000 CAD, a Second Prize of $7,000 CAD and a Third Prize of $5,000 CAD will be awarded to the winning authors this year.

Publishers of winning titles will be awarded a guaranteed purchase of up to 2,500 copies. Published books and self-published books published between 1 October 2012 and 23 October 2014, as well as unpublished manuscripts, are eligible for the award. All submissions must be received by the Bocas Lit Fest by 24 October 2014. The winners will be announced at the NGC Bocas Lit Fest in Trinidad and Tobago in April 2015.

For additional information, please contact [email protected] or Catherine Belshaw, CODE’s Literary Awards Officer, at [email protected].

The winner of the inaugural Burt Award for Caribbean Literature was All Over Again by Jamaican author A-dZiko Simba Gegele, published by Blouse and Skirt Books (an imprint of Blue Moon Publishing).

all over again - cover FAW 05JUN2013
All Over Again by A-dZiko Simba Gegele, winner of the Burt Award for Caribbean Literature 2014

In partnership with:

Code logo


Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top