CODE’s Burt Award for Caribbean Young Adult Literature 2018

The finalists will be announced in March 2018.

CODE’s Burt Award for Caribbean Literature is now CLOSED for submissions

Now in its fifth year, the Burt Award for Caribbean Literature recognizes up to three English-language literary works for young adults (aged 12 through 18) written by Caribbean authors.

This year, the winning title will be awarded $10,000 CDN, and two finalists will be awarded $2,000 CDN each.

Publishers of winning titles will be awarded a guaranteed purchase of up to 2,500 copies, which will be donated to schools, libraries, and literacy organizations throughout the region. To date, more than 15,000 copies of winning books have made their way into the hands of Caribbean youth.

Published books, previously self-published books, and unpublished manuscripts are eligible for the award. Eligible books and unpublished manuscripts may be submitted to the Bocas Lit Fest by publishers registered and operating in the Caribbean. Unpublished manuscripts or previously self-published books may be submitted by authors directly to the Bocas Lit Fest. 

The deadline for submissions was 31 October 2017.  Download the 2017 Eligibility and Entry Guidelines for more information. Please note that our guidelines are updated yearly.

The 2017 Winners 

The winners of CODE’s 4th annual Burt Award for Caribbean Literature were announced at an award ceremony on 26 April 2017 during the NGC Bocas Lit Fest. CODE will facilitate the publication of the winning titles by Caribbean publishers and purchase up to 2,500 copies of each. These books will be donated to schools, libraries, and community organizations across the region through CODE’s network of local partners. To date, CODE has distributed more than 22,000 award-winning books to readers in eleven Caribbean countries.

Viviana Prado-Núñez (Puerto Rico/USA) — first prize of $10,000 CAD for her self-published novel, The Art of White Roses.

Kevin Jared Hosein (Trinidad & Tobago) — second prize of $7000 CAD for his unpublished novel The Beast of Kukuyo.

Lisa Allen-Agostini (Trinidad & Tobago) — third prize of $5000 CAD for her unpublished novel Waiting for the Bus.


Announcing the release of the 2016 winning books 

We’re excited to see these three excellent YA titles available online and in bookshops near you! And, CODE will be donating up to 7,500 copies of these books to children’s institutions, schools and libraries throughout the Caribbean.   

Dreams Beyond the Shore

Tamika Gibson serves up a fascinating and stirring debut novel about growing up and accepting who you are, regardless of who your parents may be. Buoyed by the rhythms, heat and lyrical lilt of contemporary Trinidad and Tobago, Dreams Beyond the Shore is a heartwarming story declaring that decisions matter far more than destiny.

First place winner of the 2016 Burt Award for Caribbean Literature

Published by Blue Banyan Books. Read more here


Florenz Webbe Maxwell takes a little known fact about Caribbean history and weaves an engaging tale that speaks eloquently to the contemporary experience. Girlcott takes you beyond the image of Bermuda as a piece of paradise and charts a narrative of resistance, hope and the importance of fighting for change. 

Second place winner of the 2016 Burt Award for Caribbean Literature. 

Published by Blue Banyan Books. 

The Protector's Pledge

A fast-paced adventure set deep in a Caribbean forest with a hero who must risk everything to save the forest and his village.

For ages 9 – 12. 

Third place winner of the 2016 Burt Award for Caribbean Literature

Published by CaribbeanReads. Read more here